DDIFF logo

BOX OFFICE: 087 1177710

The Juries

The 2023 juries will be announced in due course. Below are the juries from 2022.


These are the people who will decide the best film of the festival. The prize will be The Dovinia Trophy.

Roberta Ciabarra

Roberta Ciabarra

Film Curator

Film Curator Roberta Ciabarra is a founding member of the Film Programs team at ACMI (the Australian Centre for the Moving Image), established in Melbourne in 2002. In her two decades with the department of film at ACMI she programmed and curated a wide range of film strands and seasons.
Prior to joining the State Film Centre of Victoria in 1992, Roberta worked briefly as a publicist for NewVision Films, held positions in Cinemedia’s Industry Development & Investment, Screen Culture and Documentary units.

She knows her Bertolucci from her Bellocchio – and is an ardent fan of both.

Bruno Ascuks

Bruno Ascuks

Film critic and theorist, producer and filmmaker

Started as a cinema projectionist, then worked with film amateurs. After studies at the Institute of Culture in St.Petersburg began to work with film art on the professional level: at first was more interested in the history and theory of the film as a researcher of the Latvian Academy of Science, Institute of Literature and Art, then was a head of the Film and Drama faculty in the Latvian Academy of Culture. Later became a managing director of the National Film Centre of Latvia. Since 2004 working as a film producer in the film studio Centrums, also shooting, editing and creating films.

Philip King

Philip King

Other Voices, The South Wind Blows, Bringing it all Back Home, Scullion band member, Philip King is a long time resident of Corca Dhuibhne. A man immersed in the visual and aural arts, we are very proud to have him as a member of our international feature film jury.


Meet our Documentary jury members. They will judge the Documentary films in competition. The prize will be the Dovinia Plate for the Best Documentary in competition.

Renata Lima

Renata Lima


Renata Lima is a Brazilian filmmaker based in Ireland and passionate about documentaries and archive materials. Experienced with TV and Film in both Brazil and Ireland.
She moved to Ireland in 2017 on a scholarship. Has since been involved in the local film industry in different ways including the production of two short films and multimedia interviews with industry professionals.

Worked as team member of IndieCork Film Festival.

She made her directorial debut in Ireland with ‘Vonnie – Ireland’s Forgotten Fashion Icon’, about designer Vonnie Reynolds. awarded by ENGINE Docs

film scheme. The film also received a Special Jury Mention at Docs Ireland
2022 festival.

Ruan Magan

Ruán Magan


Born in Dublin in 1968, Ruán is an Irish director, producer, writer and creator whose work in drama, documentary, theatre and major stadium events has been recognised with over 40 international industry awards and has reached audiences of millions around the world.

Dr Ciara Barrett

Dr. Ciara Barrett

Film Scholar

Dr. Ciara Barrett was born in the USA and has lived in Ireland since 2005. She is a distinguished scholar of film studies, having lectured at several universities throughout Ireland and published across a wide range of film and media-related topics.

She currently teaches at Sacred Heart University in Dingle.


Meet our jury members. They will judge the short films in both the National and International Competitions.

The prizes will be:

  • A trophy for the best film in the National Competition.
  • A trophy for the best film in the International Competition including the Dingle Distillery cash
    prize of €5,000
Ailbhe Keogan

Ailbhe Keogan


Ailbhe’s first feature film, Run & Jump, was selected as part of the Berlin Talent Campus Script Station and the Sundance Institute’s Lab. Directed by Oscar-nominated Steph Green, it premiered at Tribeca in 2012 and the script went on to win numerous awards.

Her second feature, Joyride, was released in 2022, directed by Emmy award-winning Emer Reynolds.

Her third feature, Sunlight, is part of Screen Ireland’s POV scheme and will be released in 2022. Produced by Blinder Films and Roisin Geraghty of Little Rose films, it is directed by award-winning Claire Dix and stars Barry Ward and Liam Carney.

Mick Hannigan

Mick Hannigan

Co-director of Indie Cork, Ireland

Mick has a long involvement in cinema exhibition in Ireland. He established the Triskel Film Club in 1986 and for many years was Festival Director of the Cork International Film Festival. He was Founding Cinemas Director of the Irish Film Institute and then went on to open the Kino Cinema in Cork which for 13 years screened arthouse films. He is currently co-director, and founder, of the Indie Cork Film Festival.

In recent years he co-founded the Green Ray Film Agency to promote Irish short films to International festivals. Mick is a short film expert and has served on the juries of many International festivals. In 2005 he organised the first International Short Film Symposium. 

Jukka-Pekka Laakso

Festival Director of Tampere Short Film Festival, Finland

Festival director of Tampere Film Festival since 2002. As a festival director he shares the responsibility of strategic planning and programming with a co-director. He has been a member of more than 60 juries in film festivals.

Acting as the executive director for the local film centre, a non-profit organisation that runs an art-house cinema, he distributes films in Finland and works extensively with media education.

Jukka-Pekka Laakso is a member of the European Film Academy.